Summer Associates: Don’t Be An A$$


Let’s end this week with a simple straight forward key to success this summer.  Simply stated, don’t be an a$$ (let’s just say a jerk).  Say hi to everyone.  Be nice to everyone.  Speak to everyone.  I’ve never understood why but some lawyers don’t speak to the legal assistants, paralegals, mail clerks, library staff or the cleaning staff.  Seriously, I just don’t get it. 

First, it doesn’t take any effort to be nice.  A smile and saying hi takes a second and goes a long way.  Second, you just shouldn’t be a “jerk”.  If it’s too much effort to smile and say hi, then you might be a “jerk”.  Make this summer the start of a new non-“jerk” you.  Finally, you never know who will influence whether or not you get a job offer. 

I really can’t recount all the times I was privy to information that other associates weren’t privy to simply because the assistants liked me (as a person).  I didn’t set out to be liked, it’s just my nature to try to be nice and pleasant to everyone I meet.  In the end, my rep as a nice person was also helpful to my legal career and that rep started when I was a summer associate.  So do the right thing this summer and just be nice.

About Dale-Esq

I blog at https://lawsuccess.wordpress.com Follow me on Twitter: @Dale_Esq Get my bio at www.Dale-Esq.com
This entry was posted in First Year (1L), Second Year (2L), Summer Associates and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Associates: Don’t Be An A$$

  1. Craig G says:

    This should be a life lesson. But you are spot on. I learned this lesson in High School. So when I got to college I made a point to speak to every person that cleaned the dorms, served food, mowed the lawn, etc. And it made my life very easy. I didn’t do it to get things, I just was taught that you should speak to everyone as you never know who you might influence or have influence on you.

    To this day, I get crazy inside information from admins, the cleaning staff, people that work the plant floor. Because I speak to everyone and get to know them – even if its just their name and if they have a family – I can always ask about that and they remember and appreciate I take the time to speak and ask. Especially when so many people walk by then and never say a word like they don’t exist.

    Keep preaching that good word Dale.

  2. Amanda says:

    I agree. I might add that this isn’t summer associate specific, it doesn’t really matter where you’re working…being a jerk just isn’t worth it.

    I also agree with Craig about the admins. It’s a huge mistake to be rude to the administrative staff; they are some of the hardest workers and most useful people in an office.

Leave a comment